The Palazzio Pamphilj was constructed at the start of the 16th century for Cardinal Fazio Santori. The Della Rovere family later owned it, and in the 17th century, the Aldobrandini family purchased it. Ready to travel through time? The Palazzo Doria Pamphilj encourages visitors to immerse themselves in the milieu of the 17th and 18th-century Roman aristocracy, starkly contrasting the modern museums with their somber and minimalist museography. The northern limit along the Via Aurelia Antica largely overlaps with the Trajan-Paul aqueduct structures, for example, which is one of the several areas of the villa that still exhibit significant Roman and medieval era artifacts. Numerous park locations have revealed significant Roman-era burial buildings, but the Casino del Bel Respiro is where most of them were discovered. Fine specimens of Imperial-era masonry as well as a decorated early-medieval architrave are preserved in the Casale di Giovio. Midway through the 17th century, while Innocent X was pope, the Casino del Bel Respiro was constructed. Some of the best artists of the time, including Giovanni Francesco Grimaldi, Alessandro Algardi, and Gian Lorenzo Bernini, created the fountains that embellish the gardens. The gallery's design is reminiscent of the 18th-century hanging plan. Paintings fill the walls of the enormous galleries from floor to ceiling! The names of the painters are written directly on the frames of the pictures, as was customary in the 18th century, therefore there aren't many explanatory labels to be found in the gallery. The Arco Dei Quattro Venti, the grand entrance to the villa, the renovation of the Greenhouses, the Corsini Palace, and the Monument to the French Fallen are just a few of the projects completed in the second half of the 19th century after battles fought in the Janiculum Hill region and in the villa itself during the fierce defense of the Second Roman Republic 1849.
Via del Corso 305, 00186 Rome Italy